Home About Services Contact Advertise
National Awards in Nigeria

National Honours/awards are bestowed on Nigerians or foreigners who have in one way or the other contributed to the development of Nigeria in their respective field:

Categories of Honours/Awards:

  • GCFR Grand Commander of the Federal Republic
  • GCON Grand Commander of the Order of the Niger
  • CFR Commander of the Federal Republic
  • OFR Order of the Federal Republic
  • MFR Member of the Federal Republic
  • CON Commander Of the Niger
  • OON Officer of the Order of the Niger
  • MON Member of the Order of the Niger
  • Internation Awards

    Oscar Award 1985
    Winner: Isiaka Adams Osunde - A sculptor
    The award was in recognition of Osunde's contributions and activities as an artist.

    The Nobel Prizes
    Winner: Wole Soyinka
    Who in a wide cultural perspective and with poetic overtones fashions the drama of existence.

    Note: He is the first African to win the award.

    First awarded in 1901, the Nobel Prizes were established through a bequest of $9.2 million from Alfred Bernard Nobel (1833 -1896), a Swedish Chemical Engineer and the inventor of Dynamite and other explosives. Nobel Prizes in Literature Award- 1986

    Grammy Award- 1986
    Winner: Sade Adu
    In the “Best New Artiste” category

    Integrity Award- 2003
    Winner: Dora Akunyili - Director-General (NAFDAC)
    Awarded by Transparency International. It was announced on May 16, 2003 while the official award was May 25, 2003.  

    Copyright © 2020 MediaTime Limited . All rights reserved Home   |   About   |   Blog   |   Contact   |   FAQS   |   Check Mail   |   Privacy