Home About Services Contact Advertise
Ogun State
Government  |  Natives  |  Boundaries  |  Topography  |  Climate  |  Education  |  Economy  |  Agriculture  |  Minerals  |  Hotels
Capital Abeokuta
Land Area & Rank 16,409.26 sq km (26)
Year Created Feb. 3, 1976
Governor Ibikunle Oyelaja Amosun, APC
Deputy Gov Yetunde Onanuga
L.G.A 20
House of Assembly 26
Major Areas/Towns Abeokuta (capital), Ijebu-ode, Ilaro, Sagamu, Ijebu-Igbo.
Local Dialects Yoruba
Motto “Gateway State”
Population 2006 Census:
Rank & Sex: 3,728,098 (16)
Male: 1,847,243
Female: 1,880,855
Contact Phone Gov. Office: 234-39-245089,
SSG: 234-39-241297,
Info: 234-39-241731
Liason Office Abuja Liaison Office:
Plot 75, Ralph Sodeinde St
Opp Ministry of Finance
Central Business Area, Abuja.
Tel: 09-2343030

Lagos Liaison Office:
Oduduwa House
Plot 1226, Ahmadu Bello Way
Victoria Island
P.O. Box 8809, Lagos
Tel: 01-2617696
Local Government Areas
LGA Headquarter
Abeokuta North Ake
Ado-Odo/Ota Otta
Ewekoro Ewekoro
Ifo Ifo
Ijebu East Ogbere
Ijebu North Ijebu-Igbo
Ijebu North East Atan
Ijebu Ode Ijebu Ode
Ikenne Ikenne
Imeko-Afon Imeko
Ipokia Ipokia
Obafemi-Owode Owode
Kosofe Ogudu
Odeda Odeda
Odogbolu Odogbolu
Ogun waterside Abigi
Remo North Ishara
Shagamu Shagamu
Oshodi Oshodi
Yewa North Aiyetoro
Yewa South Ilaro
Hotels & Tourism

Important places: Olumo Rock at Abeokuta, Birikisu Sungbo Shrine at Oke-Eri via Ijebu Ode, Yemoji natural swimming pool at Ijebu-Ode and Ebute-Oni in Ogun waterside, Winners Chapel Church; the largest church in Africa with over 50,000 sitting capacity at Otta.

Important events: Olumo festival, Ogun festival, Orisa Oko and New Yam festivals.

Gateway Hotel
Ibrahim Babangida Boulevard
P.O.Box 30, Ibara
Tel: 234-39-200130-5

Gateway Hotel
Lagos Abeokuta Express Road.
Tel: 234-1-722002, 722004

Olumo Guest House
29, Tinubu Street
P.O Box 256, Ibara, Abeokuta

Abeokuta Ariya Motel
45, Tinubu Street

Abeokuta Guest House
Tel: 234-39-231534
The “Gateway State” Ogun state; is a homogenous state peopled predominantly by the Egbas, Yewas, Aworis, Eguns, Ijebus and Remos; they belong in the main to the Yoruba ethnic group. The culture of the people is part and parcel of the old and cultural heritage of the Yoruba race which dates back to centuries. This is expressed in their dressing, food, greetings and marriages. In 1976, the state was created from the defunct western state by then Gen. Murtala Mohammed administration. In 1859, the First Newspaper in Nigeria; Iwe Irohin was established in Abeokuta the state capital by Rev. Henry Townsend.


it's bounded in the West by Republic of Benin, in the South by Lagos state and Atlantic Ocean, in the East by Ondo State, in the North by Oyo and Osun States.


The state lies within the rain forest zone. A thick forest zone is found in the South while the Northern part is undulating with isolated mountains and hills. Ogun River, which the state derives its name from, is the prominent river in the state.


The state follows tropical pattern with the rain season commencing in the Month of March through October, and then followed by dry season from November to February. The state enjoys a sunny weather all day, while the evenings/night is cool.


The state has 1,295 public primary schools, 244 secondary schools, seven technical colleges, and one teacher's training college, one college of education, one Polytechnic and seven universities including Covenant University privately owned by Winners Chapel Church.  


The economy of the state is driven by both the manufacturing and service sector. Agriculture also plays prominent role. Manufacturing firms in the state includes; GlaxoSmithkline (GSK), Unilever and Glasowellcome. The natives are renowned for textile making (Tie and Dye) popularly called Adire, and also in pots making.


Agricultural produce in the state are; rice, maize, cassava, yam, banana, cocoa, kolanut, rubber, palm oil and palm kernels.

Mineral/Natural Resources:

Limestone, chalk, phosphate, high quality stones, gravels, gypsum, tar, bitumen, vast forest reserves and ocean front.

Famous Natives:

Samuel Ajayi Crowther, clergy. Obafemi Awolowo, Nationalist/Statesman. Olusegun Obasanjo, Nigeria President (1976-1979 and 1999-200-). Wole Soyinka, Nobel laureate/Play wright. Ernest Shonekan, Nigeria President (August-November 1993) Fela Anikulapo-Kuti, musician. Beko Ransome-kuti, physician/activist. Olikoye Ransome-Kuti, Paediatrician. Adetokunbo Ademola, Justice. Kenny (Keke) Ogungbe, TV producer / Entertainer. Moshood Abiola, Businessman/ Politician. Dayo Adeneye (D1), Entertainer/TV producer Olusegun Osoba, Politician (Gov.1999-2003). Femi Osofisan, educationist. Oladipo diya, Army Gen. rtd. Mike Adenuga, businessman. Abraham Adesanya, laywer/poltician. Tai Solarin, educationist /activist. Moses Adekoyejo Majekodunmi, Physician. Reuben Abati, Journalist. Dorcas Bola Kuforiji Olubi, Chartered accountant. Falilat Ogunkoya, athlete. Chris Ogunbanjo, Lawyer. Bola Ajibola, Lawyer. Olu Adeniyi, administrator. Jubril Martins Kuye, economist. Sonny Kuku, Physician. Alex Bada, Clergy. Ebenezer Obey, Musician. Michael Balogun, Banker/Lawyer. Thomas Lambo, Physician. Akintola Williams, chartered accountant. Fredrick Alade Williams, lawyer. Atanda Fatayi-Williams, Justice. George Sowemimo, Justice. Segun Odegbami, football /sports administrator. Titi Oseni, politician (Speaker, House of Assembly Ogun State). David Oyedepo, clergy. Tunde Bakare, clergy.  
Copyright © 2021 MediaTime Limited . All rights reserved Home   |   About   |   Blog   |   Contact   |   FAQS   |   Check Mail   |   Privacy