Home About Services Contact Advertise
Ondo State
Government  |  Natives  |  Boundaries  |  Topography  |  Climate  |  Education  |  Economy  |  Agriculture  |  Minerals  |  Hotels
Capital Akure
Land Area & Rank 14,793.189 sq. km (27)
Year Created Feb. 3, 1976
Governor Rotimi Akeredou, APC
Deputy Gov Agboola Ajayi
L.G.A 18
House of Assembly 26
Major Areas/Towns Akure (capital), Owo, Ondo, Ikare, Owena
Local Dialects Yoruba (major), Izon and Oke-Agbe
Motto “Sunshine State”
Population 2006 Census:
Rank & Sex: 3,441,024 (18).
Male: 1,761,263
Female: 1,679,761
Contact Phone Gov. Office: 234-34-243368
SSG: 234-34-24473
Info: 234-34-240482
Liason Office Abuja Liaison office:
Plot 76 Ralph Shodeinde Street
OPP. Ministry of Finance
Central Business Area
P.M.B.373 Garki, Abuja
Tel: 09-2346747
Fax: 09-2346748

Lagos Liaison Office:
Oduduwa House
Plot 1226, Ahmadu Bello Way
Victoria Island, Lagos.
Tel/ Fax: 01- 2617061, 2617065
Local Government Areas
LGA Headquarter
Akoko North East Ikare
Akoko North West Oke-Agbe
Akoko South East Isua
Akoko South West Oka
Akure North Iju/Ita-Ogbolu
Akure South Akure
Eso-Ode Igbekobo
Idanre Owena
Ifedore Igbara-oke
Ilaje Igbokoda
Ile-Oluji/Oke-Igbo Ile-Oluji
Irele Irele
Odigbo Ore
Okitipupa Okitipupa
Ondo East Bolorunduro
Ondo West Ondo
Ose Ifon
Owo Owo
Hotels & Tourism

Important places: Idanre hills Idanre, Oke Maria-oka Akoko, Ebomi Lake at Ipesi-Akoko, Owo Museum of Antiquities at Owo, Igbokoda waterfront at Igbokoda, alagbaka cenotaph at Akure, Iho Eleru (cave of Ashes) at Isarum, the Palace of Deji of Akure and the Creek and Lagoons in the riviera areas of the state.

Important Events: --

Akure Guest House
Ilesha Road, P.O Box 705
Tel: 2234-34-230384

Akure Plaza Motel
Oke Isolo
Tel: 234-34-231211
Owena Motels Ltd

Adekunle Ajasin Road
Tel: 234-34-200280-12, 243340, 243341
What is today Ondo state evolved from the old western region of 1947 and Western state of 1967. Ten years later on February 3, 1976 Ondo State was created by Gen. Murtala Mohammed’s regime. The state is located in the south-west of Nigeria. The people of the state are predominantly Yoruba ethnic group. The Ijaw-Arogbo and Ijaw-Apoi who inhabit some parts of the riviera areas of the state are not of the Yoruba race. On October 1, 1996, Ekiti state was created out of Ondo State.  


In the North by Ekiti and Kogi states, in the East by Edo State, in the West by Oyo and Ogun states, in the South by Atlantic Ocean.


The land rises steadily from the shores of the Atlantic Ocean in the south to the giant highlands of Akoko areas in the North. The highlands which are part of the famous Yoruba highlands of western Nigeria constitute a great watershed from where most of the notable rivers draining Ondo State take their sources. The Owena River is the prominent river in the state. It serves one third of the inhabitants their daily household water needs. Generally the plains and valleys intersperse the highlands as well as the predominant lowlands in the Southern part of the state.


The climate is tropical with two distinct seasons: The rain season (April-October) and dry season (November-March) Temperature throughout the year ranges from 21oc to 290C. The annual rainfall varies from 2,000mm in the South to 1,150mm in the Northern areas. The state generally enjoys luxuriant vegetation. A high forest zone found in the South while the Northern fringe is mostly sub-savannah forest.


The state has 1,128 primary schools, 262 secondary schools comprising 252 public schools, 5 state unity schools, 2 federal unity schools, 2 technical colleges and one school for the handicapped. The state also has one polytechnic at Owo, one College of Education at Ondo, one College of Agriculture at Akure, two universities: one state and one federal.


The state is agrarian. Local cottage industries like weaving are common among the indigenes. The state is also one of the oil producing states.


Food crops: yam, maize, cassava, rice, cocoyam, tomatoes, and vegetable. Cash crops: Plantain, banana, cocoa, coffee, rubber, kolanuts, oil palm, raffia palm, citrus, cashew and coconut. Economic trees: Gmelina, Iroko, Mahogany, Obeche, Omo, Apa, Danta, Ayan etc.

Mineral/Natural Resources:

kaolin, bulk clay, filter sand and glass sand, limestone, coal/lignite, tar sand, oil, bitumen, crude oil, iron ore, marble, salt and dimension stone.

Famous Natives:

Gani Fawehinmi, Lawyer. Alex Akinyele, businessman. Omitayo Ogunsulure, diplomat. Solomon Oladunni, administrator. Rufus Giwa, businessman. Aduloju Alfred, army officer rtd. Akin Aduwo, navy officer rtd. Kasali Alo, businessman. Bode Olajumoke, politician. Ifedayo Ladapo, academician. Alice Mobolaji Osomo, lawyer/administrator. Dipo Ogunsulire, banker. Alabi Raph, administrator. Sunday Adeniyi (Sunny Ade), Musician. Joseph Sanusi, banker (CBN Governor 1999-2004), Ralph Akinfeleye, Mass Communicator. Babatunde Rogers, banker. Olakunrin Olusola, chartered accountant. Olakunle Orojo, Justice. Oladele Fajemirokun, economist. Kola Ademulegun, businessman. Osuntokun Benjamin, Physician. Soji Oyinsan, administrator. E. O. Akinsete, administrator. K. Ekundayo, industrialist. Babatunde Jose, journalist. Akinola Aguda, Justice. Sunday Ehindero, Police officer (IG 2005-2007) 
Copyright © 2021 MediaTime Limited . All rights reserved Home   |   About   |   Blog   |   Contact   |   FAQS   |   Check Mail   |   Privacy