Home About Services Contact Advertise
Osun State
Government  |  Natives  |  Boundaries  |  Topography  |  Climate  |  Education  |  Economy  |  Agriculture  |  Minerals  |  Hotels
Capital Osogbo
Land Area & Rank 8,602 sq km (29)
Year Created August 27, 1991
Governor Rauf Aregbesola, APC
Deputy Gov Titilayo Laoye-Tomori
L.G.A 30
House of Assembly 26
Major Areas/Towns Osogbo (capital), Ile-Ife, Iwo, Ilesha, Ila Orangun
Local Dialects Yoruba
Motto “State of the Living Spring”
Population 2006 Census:
Rank & Sex: 3,423,535 (19)
Male: 1,740,619
Female: 1,682,916
Contact Phone Gov. Office: 234-35-245118
SSG: 234-35-243832
Info: 234-35-241391
Liason Office Abuja Liaison Office:
Plot 381, Nouachott Street
Zone 1, Wuse
P.M.B.28, Garki, Abuja
Tel: 09-5233721, 5233688

Lagos Liaison Office:
18A Copper Road
Ikoyi, Lagos
Tel: 01- 686794, 2694256
Local Government Areas
LGA Headquarter
Atakumosa East Iperindo
Atakumosa West Osu
Ayeda-Ade Gbongan
Ayedire Ile-Ogbo
Boluwaduro Otan Aiyegbaju
Boripe Iragbiji
Ede North Oja Time
Ede South Ede
Egbedore Awo
Ejigbo Ejigbo
Ife Central Ile-Ife
Ife East Oke-Ogbe
Ife North Ipetumodu
Ife South Ifetedo
Ifelodun Ikirun
Ila Ila-Orangun
Ilesha Eest Iyemogun,Ilesa
Ilesha West Ereja Square
Irepodun Ilobu
Irewole Ikire
Isokan Apomu
Iwo Iwo
Obokun Ibokun
Odo-Otin Okuku
Ola oluwa Bode-osi
Olorunda Igbona
Ori-ade Ijebu-Jesha
Orolu Ifon
Osogbo Osogbo
Hotels & Tourism

Important places: The renowned Oranmiyan staff, the Ife Museum, the Osun Shrine, Olumirin water falls at Erin Ijesha, Mbarimbayo heritage, Idi-baba Cultural Centre and Adunni Susan Wengers art works centre at Osogbo.

Important Events: The annual Osun Osogbo Festival.

Hotel Terminus International
Ajegunle Street, Osogbo
Tel: 234-35-230423

Osun Presidential Hotel
Old Ikirun Road
P.O.Box 82, Osogbo
Tel: 234-35-232399

Hotel Beehive
24/26, Bibilari Street,
Off Osogbo Road
Tel: 234-36-4614611

Diganga Hotel
Km 1, Ife-Ibadan Road
P.O Box 1296,
Tel: 234-36-231791

Obafemi Awolowo University Guest House

Mayfair Hotel Ltd
Ife-Ibadan Road
P. O, Box 163, Ile-Ife
Tel: 234-36-232250
What is today Osun State is an off shoot of the old aged famous Oyo Empire of 18th century. Ife; one of the most prominent towns, is regarded as the cradle of the Yoruba race. The state before its creation in 1991 by Gen. Ibrahim Babangida administration, was part of western region from 1947-1967, later as part of Western state from 1967-1976. In 1976 when Oyo State was created the state formed a greater proportion of it until 1991 when Osun State was carved out from Oyo State. The state is a homogenous ethnic society, made up of the Yoruba race; located in the South West of the Country.  


In the West is Oyo State, in the East are Ondo and Ekiti States, in the North is Kwara State and in the South is Ogun State.


Generally, the state has undulating land formation, with isolated hills toward the North and Central part and flat surface towards the south. The state lies within the rain forest belt.


The state has two distinct climatic conditions; dry and rain seasons. The dry season lasts from November- March, while the rain season is from April-October. The heaviest amount of rain is in the months of June and July, while December to early January is coldest as a result of the harmattan wind.


The state has 1,112 public primary schools and a number of secondary schools; technical and grade II teachers colleges. Also colleges of education, a polytechnic and a federal university; Obafemi Awolowo University at Ife.


Agriculture plays a major role in the economy of the state. The state has two major industries, which could act as a catalyst for the state industrial growth. These are the Osogbo Steel Rolling Mills and the Nigerian Machine Tools both at the state capital Osogbo. Other companies are: Cocoa Products Industry at Ede and Supreme Oil Industry at Ilesha.


Principal crops in the state include cash crops: cocoa, palm produce and kolanuts. Food crops: yam, Maize, cassava, millet, Plantain and rice.

Mineral/Natural Resources:

Gold, Clay, Limestone and granite.

Famous Natives:

Okunade Sijuwade, Monarch (Ooni of Ife). Bola Ige, lawyer/politician. Enoch Adeboye, Clergy. Iyiola Matanmi, Monarch. Adejare Bello, Lawyer/Politician. Antar Laniyan, actor/film director. Christopher Sapara-Williams, Lawyer (1st Nigerian Lawyer 1880). Bisi Akande, Politician (Gov. 1999-2003) Ebenezer Babatope, Academician 
Copyright © 2021 MediaTime Limited . All rights reserved Home   |   About   |   Blog   |   Contact   |   FAQS   |   Check Mail   |   Privacy