Home About Services Contact Advertise
States Structure
36 States Profile
States And Their Creation:

The 1947 Richard Constitution politically splited the Nigeria State into Three regions; Eastern, Northern and Western regions with each having her freedom of governance. In 1963 the fourth region; Mid Western Region was created from Western region. The coup of 1966 and the subsequent military take over of leadership saw the end of all regional government. Gen. Yakubu Gowon pioneered the states creations in 1967. The last state creation exercise was by Gen. Sani Abacha in 1996. And the demand for more has persisted.

1947 Three Regional Structure:

Region Capital
Eastern Enugu
Northern Kaduna
Western Ibadan

A fourth Region -Mid west region was created after the plebiscite on August 8, 1963 by an act of parliament; with the capital at Benin - City.

12 State Structure:

On May 27, 1967, the Military Government of Yakubu Gowon created twelve states just as Emeka Ojukwe declare the Republic of Biafra, bringing to an end the regional arrangement of administration.

State Capital Former Region Created From
Benue-Plateau Jos Benue - Plateau (North)
East - Central Enugu Onitsha, Owerri Part of Ogoja (East)
Kano Kano Western
Lagos Lagos Colony(West)
Mid-West Benin City Benin, Warri (Mid West)
North Central Kaduna Zaria & Katsina (North)
North - East Maiduguri Bauchi, Adamawa, Borno, Sardauna (North)
North - West Sokoto Sokoto & Niger (North)
Rivers Port-Harcourt Rivers (East)
South - East Calabar Calabar, part of Ogoja-East
Western Ibadan Abeokuta, Ijebu, Ibadan, Ondo, Oyo (West).
West Central Ilorin Ilorin, Kabba (North)
19 State Structure:

On February 3, 1976, the Military Government of Murtala Mohammed created new states and renamed others.

State Capital Former Region Created From
Anambra Enugu East Central
Bauchi Bauchi North - East
Bendel Benin City Mid-West
Benue Makurdi Benue-Plateau
Borno Maiduguri North East
Cross-River Calabar South East
Gongola Yola North-East
Imo Owerri East Central
Kaduna Kaduna North - Central
Kano Kano Kano
Kwara Ilorin West Central
Lagos Ikeja Lagos
Niger Minna North West
Ogun Abeokuta Western
Oando Akure Western
Oyo Ibadan Western
Plateau Jos Benue - Plateau
Rivers Port-Harcourt Rivers
Sokoto Sokoto North West
21 State Structure:

Ibrahim Babangida created two new states on September 23, 1987.

State Capital Former Region Created From
Akwa Ibom Uyo Cross River
Katsina Katsina Kaduna

30 State Structure:

Ibrahim Babagida created nine states on August 27, 1991.

State Capital Former Region Created From
Abia Umuahia Imo
Enugu Enugu Anambra
Delta Asaba Bendel
Jigawa Dutse Kano
Kebbi Birnin Kebbi Sokoto
Kogi Lokoja Kwara & Benue
Osun Osogbo Oyo
Taraba Jalingo Gongola
Yobe Damaturu Borno

Some states, which were shared, got new names or their capital changed. Old Anambra Capital changed From Enugu to Awka Old Gongola became Adamawa State What was left of old Bendel state was renamed Edo State

36 State Structure:

Sani Abacha Government created six new states on October 1, 1996 making a total of 36 states

State Capital Former Region Created From
Bayelsa Yenegoa River
Ebonyi Abakaliki Abia & Enugu
Ekiti Ado Ekiti Ondo
Gombe Gombe Bauchi
Nasarawa Lifia Plateau
Zamfara Gusau Sokoto
Copyright © 2021 MediaTime Limited . All rights reserved Home   |   About   |   Blog   |   Contact   |   FAQS   |   Check Mail   |   Privacy